About Us

The Shepparton Art Museum has an active exhibitions program that includes curated, local community and touring exhibitions.

The Shepparton Art Museum proudly presents a permanent exhibition that tells the story of Australian ceramics, in addition to the Art Museum's superb collection of Australian paintings and works on paper.

A significant aspect of SAM's work is the biennial Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award and the national Indigenous Ceramic Art Award.

Contact Us

Telephone: (03) 5832 9861
Fax: (03) 5831 8480
Mailing Address: Locked Bag 1000, Shepparton, Vic. 3632
Email: art.museum@shepparton.vic.gov.au    

SAM Staff

Director Dr. Rebecca Coates (email)
Senior Curator Anna Briers (email)
Collections Curator/Registrar Lilian Yong (email)
Curatorial Assistant - Indigenous Visual Arts Belinda Briggs (email)
Marketing Officer Amina Barolli (email)
Marketing Officer Sarah Werkmeister (email)
Cultural Development Public Programs Officer Feyza Yazar (email)
Visual Arts Educator Catherine Read (email)
Administration Officer Jessica Solty (email)
Art Museum Technician Janet Burchill (email)
Front of House and Shop Coordinator Lynne Parker (email)

Mission Statement

To enrich people's lives through visual art experiences.

New SAM Project

You can find out about the new SAM project on the Greater Shepparton City Council website or visit Tumblr.

For more infromation about the New SAM Architectural Competition, click here.

SAM Interviews and Videos

SAM Drawing Wall #21 Mimi Leung

SAM Drawing Wall #20 Jordan Marani


Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran: 2015 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award recipient

Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran ‘Archipelago’: 2015 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award recipient


SAM Foundation Board

Mr Peter Quinn (Chair of the Board)
Managing Director, Goulburn Valley Water

Mr Stephen Copulos
Managing Director, Copulos Group

Dr Jody Evans
Associate Professor (Marketing), Melbourne Business School

Mr Andrew Fairley AM

Mr George Gabriel
Non-Executive Director, Morphic Asset Management

Mr Carrillo Gantner AO
Chair, Sidney Myer Fund

Mrs Anne McCamish
Former Mayor, Greater Shepparton

Mr Drew Pettifer
Artist and Lecturer, Monash University

If you would like to express interest in the SAM Foundation you can be in touch with SAM's Director on phone (03) 5832 9517.

SAM Advisory Committee

The Shepparton Art Museum is supported by an Advisory Committee which oversees acquisitions into the collection and provides support to the Art Museum Director. The committee is made up of the following members.

  • Board Chair - Chris Hazelman
  • Ann Fagan
  • Dr John Lawry
  • John McMaster (commenced November 2016)
  • Kristine Medson (commenced September 2016)
  • Rosa Purbrick