Previous SAM Indigenous Ceramic Award winners


ICA $20,000 Acquisitive Award: Yhonnie Scarce, Servant and Slave, 2018


  • Dean Cross, Worimi (ACT)
  • Jackie Wirramanda, Wergaia, (VIC)
  • Jan Goongaja Griffiths, Miriwoonga/Ngarinyman (WA)
  • Janet Fieldhouse, Torres Strait Islands (QLD)
  • Jock Puautjimi, Tiwi (NT)
  • Penny Evans, Gamilaraay/Gomeroi (NSW)


The 2016 award format was adjusted to focus on seven shortlisted finalists supported by the SAM curatorial team to produce significant bodies of work with one final winner. This format continued in 2018.

ICA $20,000 Acquisitive Award: Gallery Kaiela Artists, Jack Anselmi and Cynthia Hardie, Midden, 2016


  • Janet Fieldhouse, Torres Strait (QLD)
  • Deanne Gilson, Wadawurrung/ Wathaurung (VIC)
  • Sean Miller, Kamilaroi (NSW)
  • Raymond Young, Gunnai / Yorta Yorta/ Gunditjmara (VIC)
  • Alison Murray, Girramay (QLD)
  • Ernabella Potters, Pukatja Community – Pitjantjatjara Language (SA)
    • Alison Milyika Carroll
    • Elizabeth Dunn
    • Rupert Jack
    • Lynette Lewis
    • Rachael Mipantjiti Lionel
    • Janelle Muwitja Nakamarra Thompson
    • Fiona Wells
    • Tjimpuna Williams
  • Gallery Kaiela Artists, Yorta Yorta (VIC)
    • Jack Anselmi
    • Cynthia Hardie


ICAA First $20,000 Acquisitive Award: Bankstown Koori Elders Group, After the Rain, Bungle Bungle, 2013
ICAA Second $10,000: Alison Milyika Carroll, Ngayuku Walka, 2014
Acquisitive Encouragement Award for Victorian Artist $3,000: Robyne Latham, PODS3, 2014
Three Special Acquisition Prizes: Tanya Flower, Rosie’s Girls, 2013, Shauna Colin, Tali, 2014 and Anne
Thompson, Ngayuku Ngura, 2014


ICAA First Prize 20,000: Janet Fieldhouse, Tattoo, 2011
ICAA Shared Second Prize $10,000: Vera Cooper, Yorta Yorta and the Law, Yorta Yorta Elders along the river, Yorta Yorta Generations, 2010
ICA Shared Second Prize $10,000: Cynthia Vogler, Waterways, 2010 and The Reef, 2010
Victorian Prize $3,000: Vera Cooper, Yorta Yorta land and Law, Yorta Yorta Elders Along the River, Yorta Yorta Generations, 2010
Highly commended: Nancy Wilson, Barramundi, 2010 and Emily Ngarnal Evans, Spotted Stingray, 2011


ICAA First $20,000 Acquisitive Award: Danie Mellor, Materially cultured [an allegorical scene of a bastard history], 2008
ICAA Second $5,000: Rona Robuntja, Palm Valley Muster, 2008
ICAA Third Prize 3,000: Janet May Fieldhouse, Armband, 2008
Special Commendation: Adam Ridgeway, Know where you come from, know where you are, know where you are going, 2008
Victorian Prize $3,000: Vera Cooper, Our world is a midden, holding the past, present and future, 2008


ICAA First Prize $15,000: Janet Fieldhouse, Woven Armbands, 2007
ICAA Second Prize: $10,000, Irene Mbitjana Entata, Mission Days – Rubbing Salt, 2007
ICAA Third Prize: $5,000, Carol Anilyuru Willimas, Wanampi, 2007
Victorian Award: $3,000, Vera Cooper, My Mother’s Place on the River, 2007