SAM Indigenous Ceramic Award

Announcing the 2022 ICA finalists

SAM, along with 2022 ICA judges Kimberley Moulton, Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran and Penny Evans, congratulate the 2022 Indigenous Ceramic Award finalists:

  • Alfred Lowe, Arrernte (NT)
  • Alison Milyika Carroll, Pukatja / Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Anne Thompson, Pukatja/ Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Bankstown Koori Elders Group (Comprised of artists: Lorna Morgan Waka-Waka, Darumbal (North Queensland), Lillian Johnson Waka-Waka, Gubbi Gubbi (North Queensland), Gloria Peronchik Waka-Waka Gangulu (North Queensland), Beverley Gilmartin Wiradjuri (NSW), Victoria Woods Wiradjuri (NSW), Margaret Foat Bowenstick (SA), Lola Simmons Wailwan (Central NSW), John Simmons (Non Aboriginal)
  • Beth Inkamala Mbitjana, Ntaria Western Aranda (NT)
  • Billy Bain, Darug (NSW)
  • Carlene Thompson, Pukatja / Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Debbie Taylor – Worley, Gamilaraay/Gomeroi (NSW)
  • Elisa Jane Carmichael, Ngugi (QLD)
  • Elizabeth Dunn, Pukatja / Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Hayley Coulthard Panangka, Ntaria Western Aranda (NT)
  • Jock Puautjimi, Tiwi (NT)
  • Megan Croydon, Kuku Yalanji (QLD)
  • Philip Denham, Girramay (QLD)
  • Philomena Yeatman, Gunggandji (QLD)
  • Rupert Jack, Pukatja/ Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Sean Miller, Gamilaroi (NSW)
  • Tjunkaya Tapaya OAM, Pukatja/ Pitjantjatjara (NT)
  • Vivian Pingkayi Thompson, Pukatja / Pitjantjatjara (NT)

2022 Judges
Kimberley Moulton, Museums Victoria Senior Curator
Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran, leading contemporary ceramicist
Penny Evans, artist and previous ICA winner.



Established under the patronage of acclaimed artist Dr Thancoupie Gloria Fletcher (Thainakuith), the Shepparton Art Museum Indigenous Ceramic Award (ICA) is the most prestigious national award for Indigenous ceramics, showcasing new and exciting developments in the field.

The acquisitive prize attracts ceramic works from Indigenous artists across Australia and builds on SAM’s significant holdings of Indigenous ceramics.

Presented on Yorta Yorta Country, this Award provides a national platform to share personal, historical and deep cultural learnings from artists and Country. It celebrates and supports the rich and diverse use of the ceramic medium by Indigenous artists and acknowledges the special industry of ceramic art.

Previous prize winners have included Jack Anselmi and Aunty Cynthia Hardie, Vera Cooper, Janet Fieldhouse, Irene Mbitjana Entata, Danie Mellor, Rona Rubuntja, Yhonnie Scarce and Carol Anilyuru Williams.


13 August – 04 December 2022


Wednesday 9 March 2022                                     Applications open

Friday 3 June 2022                                                  Applications close

Friday 10 June 2022                                                Shortlisted artists advised

Wednesday 27 July 2022                                      Works to be delivered to SAM 

Saturday 13 August 2022                                       Exhibition opens

Saturday 8 October 2022                                      Awards ceremony

Saturday 8 – Sunday 9 October 2022                 Community showcase events

Friday 9 December  2022                                         Works returned to artists. 



Major Acquisitive Prize                                                  $20,000

South-East Australian Aboriginal Artist Prize          $5,000

People's Choice Award                                                 $1,500